Mechanics is the branch of physics which describes and predicts the conditions of rest or motion of bodies under the action of forces. The study of mechanics can be divided into mechanics of rigid body, mechanics of deformable bodies and mechanics of fluid.

         The Classical Mechanics was formulated by Newton. It is also called Newtonian Mechanics. The 6 fundamental principles are:
                            1) the parallelogram law for addition of forces
                            2) the principle of transmissibility
                            3) Newton's first law of motion
                            4) Newton's second law of motion
                            5) Newton's third law of motion
                            6) Newton's law of gravitation

         Newtonian Mechanics was re-formulated by d'Alembert, Lagrange and Hamilton. To distinguish the two, the Classical Mechanics is referred as Vectorial Mechanics and the re-formulated Classical Mechanics is referred as Analytical Mechanics. Einstein formulated his theory of relativity which gives birth to Relativistic Mechanics. Quantum Mechanics is the branch of physics which replaces Classical Mechanics at the atomic and subatomic levels. Despite the limitation of Newtonian Mechanics, it remains as basis of modern engineering sciences.

return to main page