Malaysia practices parliamentary democracy whilst at the same time maintains a system of Constitutional Monarchy, with the Yang di-Pertua Agong as the Head of State. The Prime Minister as the Head of Government. The Yang Di-Pertuan Agong is elected for a 5-year terms amongst the Council of Rulers with a membership of 9 sultans.

The Malaysian Parliament consists of :
1) the Yang di-Pertuan Agong;
2) the Dewan Negara @ upper house; and
3) the Dewan Rakyat @ lower house.

There are 70 members in the Dewan Negara, who sit for 3-year terms (normally extended for an additional 3 years); 26 are elected by the 13 state assemblies, and 44 are appointed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong. They are not affected by the dissolution of Parliament.

There are 222 members in the Dewan Rakyat, who sit for 5-year terms; all are elected from single member districts.

There are 576 members in the Dewan Undangan Negeri (State Legislative Assemblies).

return to main page